New Cycling Toys from Garmin @ CES2016!

Let me start by saying I love my Garmin stuff when it comes to biking. Up until last year, I used an Edge 705 bike computer, and last year, was lucky enough to get a vivoactive watch, which when I use with my iPhone 6 Plus running MapMyRide mounted to my QuadLock mount, well, let’s just say I love the data that I get back!

When I saw the news from CES yesterday about Garmin’s new products, as well as some new Connect enhancements, I thought it was worth a share!

Garmin Connect Inconnectinsightssights can most easily be described as an enhancement to the tool most Garmin users have, that allows smart insights into the user’s previous day’s activity and then produces goals based on that. Personally I find data like this motivating and it helps me push to keep improving. Dan Bartel of Garmin said it perfectly yesterday at CES:

Insights enhances users’ experience tracking and analyzing data with personalized recommendations and motivation specifically for them.

It’s not very clear whether this will be completely integrated into the mobile app, Garmin Connect, or if it will be a standalone app, but I’m hoping that it’s implemented as part of the main app. I can’t wait to see it later this month.

Insights enhances users’ experience tracking and analyzing data with personalized recommendations and motivation specifically for them.

Varia Vision is the most advanced item I’ve seen in cycling accessories in a while…think Heads-Up Dvariavision2isplay for cyclists! This is already available for pre-order on the Garmin site, and is a bit (OK, a lot) out of my price range, but, still…very cool!

By attaching the Varia Vision to your cycling sunglasses, ride data and smart alerts from compatible devices (currently Edge 1000, Edge 520 and Edge Explore 1000) can be easily viewed without taking your eyes off the road. It will even pair with the Varia Rearview Radar (another super-cool device) and give you notice of cars approaching from behind. The Varia Vision is slated to start shipping in Q1 this year.

While I would love these new toys, I’ll be fine saving all that money and continuing to use my setup above! Now if spring would just get here so I can get the bike back on the road!

2 thoughts on “New Cycling Toys from Garmin @ CES2016!

Pour a mug and let's chat!

