Book Review – Surveillance

SurveillanceI’ll start off honestly (sorry Reece)…I don’t even remember how I stumbled across Reece Hirsch’s first book that introduced his character, Chris Bruen. I am very glad that I did, though! From the very beginning of this character’s introduction in The Adversary Hirsch has the reader fully engulfed in his world of cyber crimes and technology, and sets a fast pace that makes it very hard to put these books down.

It’s been just over a year since Intrusion (the second Bruen adventure) was released, and I have been (im)patiently waiting for this next story to drop, so when Mr. Hirsch offered me an advance copy of Surveillance, in exchange for an honest review, I jumped at that chance!

Once I got the copy loaded on to my Kindle, it only took me two evenings to read the book. Reece’s writing style is flowing, easy to read and fast-paced. Chapters fly by as the story unfolds into three parallel story lines (all obviously interconnected to the main plot), and you may find it very hard to put down until the end. So, what is the plot, exactly? Well, so as not to give anything away (let’s face it, this is a thriller [or techno-thriller in my terms] and has twists and turns like any other), let’s just say that the opening day of Chris and Zoey’s new law firm does not pan out like they planned. Events quickly unfold into the discovery of a top-secret, completely-off-the-record US government agency that has hooks into every possible type of surveillance to “keep the country safe”, that puts Chris, Zoey and their first client on the run through California, Mexico and Ecuador trying to avoid their own government and a drug cartel, all while trying to figure out the best way to expose this clandestine organization that is willing to kill in the name of counter-terrorism!

This is definitely Reece Hirsch’s most mature story yet…less “tentative” in descriptions of events, etc. I would put him in my top list of thriller authors for sure after this third Bruen story. The story alone makes one wonder about what’s really happening out there as we live our daily lives…are we really being watched this closely?

I sincerely hope that there are more Chris Bruen stories in Reece’s mind already developing, because every time I finish one of these, I’m ready for the next one right away 🙂

Oh, and did I mention that in this book, quantum computing is real and working??? You’ll have to pick up a copy on March 15th to get more on that!!!

9 thoughts on “Book Review – Surveillance

  1. Well, I don’t own a Kindle (yet), I haven’t embraced e-readers yet, but thanks for the book review this book sounds interesting. Why would Kindle be the best e-reader and could you recommend which model? I think e-readers come in handy for traveling.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Even if you don’t have an e-reader I believe the paperback is out on the 15th too…and as for why I prefer the Kindle it really comes down to quality of the screen first and then the build of the device…with the Kindles you’ve always felt like it’s put together very well 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • I have two kindles, my original (with keyboard) and an old fire (they never wear out). As to choice right now, if you are just going to use it just for reading, I’d go with the “Paperwhite” if you want to do e-mail and browsing as well, I would go with the book sized Fire. Either way you won’t go wrong. I picked the kindle over the other e-books because of the power behind Amazon (going to be here) and the incredible selection available on line from Amazon. In addition it is really easy to download books from libraries all over the country. BTW the Amazon Prime subscription is really worth its weight. You get to borrow a book a month and buy a “Kindle First” book free each month and get free two day shipping on most anything you buy through Amazon, not just books.

      Liked by 2 people

    • Oh I forgot. If you have any kind of tablet you can download the kindle app and get the books that way. Also with the Prime you get thousands of free movies and TV programs you can down load for travel or just to watch at home,

      Liked by 2 people

      • Wow – Thank you so much for all of the detailed information. I have a new Amazon Bookstore that they opened here in Seattle, so now I can do there and view their Kindles armed with information. I appreciate your sharing so much information AND about Amazon Prime too. Thanks! Happy Reading!

        Liked by 1 person

Pour a mug and let's chat!

